Wow, this is not a dream of fluffy marshmallow clouds…this is real life. Gelatin-free marshmallows! It may be hard to believe, but I think these vegan marshmallows are actually much better than the brands I grew up with!
Companies like Dandies are proving that foods we love can be reinvented in more sustainable, cruelty-free, and delicious ways. Marshmallows don’t HAVE to contain gelatin. In fact, Chicago Vegan Foods’ marshmallow products show us they’re better without it.
Before I opened the bag of vanilla Dandies mini marshmallows, I thought about how long it had been since I last ate a marshmallow. 10 years. When I became a vegetarian, I stopped eating marshmallows because they contain gelatin, which is not a vegetarian ingredient. I did miss them in the beginning. Oh, I used to love drinking hot chocolate with marshmallows, or eating pies made with marshmallow frosting, or the best of all – making s’mores by campfire. But I was willing to give those up to be vegetarian. Now, I can have marshmallows back! Now, Dandies enters the food game with a vegan alternative to marshmallows that will please anyone, not just vegans. It’s awesome.
I received my first bag in my December 2014 Vegan Cuts Box.
I actually enjoyed the taste of the vanilla flavor so much that I ate handfuls of marshmallows straight out of the bag as dessert. And I was never one to eat them plain. My friends really enjoyed them too, and they’re not vegan or even vegetarian, so they don’t care about gelatin so much. You know a vegan food product is good when non-vegans admit it’s just as tasty (or in this case, even better!) than the original version. That just goes to show that if we re-think our food and how it’s made, we can veganize just about anything.
Now that I’ve tried these beauties, I just might start drinking hot chocolate again. Except, this time around it’ll be dairy-free, made with soy milk, and topped with a mountain of gelatin-free marshmallows. Yum. I would definitely buy them in the future for making hot chocolate or other desserts.
Some highlights of the marshmallows from Dandies Website:
- Melts and tastes just like a traditional gelatin-based marshmallow
- 100% Vegan
- Gluten free
- Corn and corn syrup free
- Free of most common allergens
- Made in a dedicated vegan facility
- Certified Kosher by cRc
- Non-GMO Verified
Overall, Dandies gets two thumbs up from me. I’m glad that I got to try them in my Vegan Cuts box subscription!
Dandies and NON-GMO Project logos source: Dandies website
If you enjoyed this blog post, feel free to support the writer with a PayPal donation. I truly appreciate it 😀